Photo competition

Rules


Prizes Rules

2019 International Wildbird Photo Competition’s rules

 

Download the rules

 

TERMS OF ENTRY

This online competition is open to everybody, amateur and professional photographers, of whatever nationality. The Festival’s team and the jury members are not allowed to join in.

A specific category is dedicated to photographers aged 15 to 17 years.

This competition is an ethical contest : Any participant guarantees that the images they submit have been shot in full compliance with laws related to the preservation of wildlife. They are expected to keep in mind the well-being of the birds and their environment, and to avoid injury or distress to the birds or destruction of their habitat.
Pictures of domesticated, trained or captive bird, photographs showing stressed or harassed bird, photographs taken at nest with macro lenses; birds of prey lured with live bait or nocturnal birds taken at night with a flash, are prohibited.

2019 CATEGORIES

5 categories reserved for photographers over 18:

  • Bird portrait : The subject can be photographed in close-up or whole, but the photo must transmit an emotion through the pose, look, expression… The topic should occupy most of the image.
  • Bird in its environment : The photographs submitted in this category must describe the close relationship between the bird and its natural environment, include it in its familiar landscape, which is the most important part of the picture.
  • Bird in action: The jury will appreciate dynamism and energy of the photo.
  • Artistic vision of bird: The creativity of the photographer, in shooting or post processing, must transform the mundane into a contemplative and artistic interpretation and offer a new perspective on the bird.
  • Bunch of birds : Large swarm of birds in flight or on the ground

1 special category dedicated to young photographers aged 15 to 17 years-old (legal age as of Dec. 2nd, 2018 at midnight), and has for unique theme wildbird.

Except for the category «15-17 years-old», the Jury reserve the right to change the category of an image if it seems more appropriate.

HOW TO ENTER ?

Registrations are open from September 3rd 10am to December 2nd, 2018 midnight (Paris time)

You must register and submit your pictures online on the Festival website at this address: https://www.festival-oiseau-nature.com/concours/en/concours-photo-international/

Participants send their files at their own expense and risk through the site. The uploaded photos will be visible from their account and a confirmation will be sent to the email address provided (remember to check your spam box!)

When entering, the participant must provide the following information:

  • Last name and first name
  • Address*
  • Phone and mobile phone numbers *
  • A valid e-mail address *
  • A password
  • Place and date of the shooting
  • Name of the species
  • Technical information (type of camera, zoom, speed …)
  • The mention «I have read the contest rules and I accept the conditions of participation»

* These personal data re only used to contact the participant, and will not be transferred to any other third party.

Regarding the categories reserved to photographers over 18:
Each participant may submit a maximum of 10 photographs, either in the same or several categories (the miniseries category counting as a single photograph).
Registration fees: €2 / photo – Payment will be made online with a debit or credit card or via Paypal. (This is a competition and not a commercial lottery, the participation fee will not be refunded).

Regarding the category for photographers aged 15 to 17 years:
Each participant must have the permission of a parent or guardian to enter. They may submit up to 5 photos. No registration fees for this category.

Entering selected or award-winning picture from a previous edition of the competition is forbidden. A picture can compete in only one category.

TECHNICAL CONSTRAINTS AND DIGITAL DIRECTIVES

Files shall be submitted in:

  • JPEG format
  • free of margin, frame or signature
  • 3:2 ratio
  • with exactly 3,500 pixels on its longest side (the shortest side should be of about 2,333 pixels)

Numerical settings such as tone and contrast, brightness and darkness adjustment, cropping, sharpening, black-and-white processing, noise reduction, localized retouching, HDR, focus stacking and multiple exposures taken in the same place at the same time are allowed if they comply with the competition principles of authenticity, and do not induce the viewer in error and do not misrepresent the realities of nature.

THE JURY

All photographs will be submitted to a jury composed of photographers, naturalists and ornithologists, in December. This same jury will meet on 17 and 18, January , 2019 to choose the photos to be exhibited during the Festival and to designate the winners. The Jury will proceed in accordance with the rules of anonymity.

After the end of deliberations, the winners will be notified by e-mail and invited to send TIFF (8-bit) or JPEG high resolution at 300 dpi, and RAW or original files. These files must be provided by email return. If it turns out that a winning image has not complied with these rules, it will officially be downgraded.

Results will be communicated to the participants by email before the end of January, and will be published on the Festival’s website and social networks. 

The jury’s decisions are final.

PRIZES AND AWARD CEREMONY

Prizes can not be the object of a counterpart in cash nor of whatever nature and are not transferable.

  • A Grand Prix to the overall winner awarded with an amount of €1,500
  • A 1st Prize in each category awarded with an amount of €800
  • A 1st Prize for the category «Young Photographers» awarded with material endowments.
  • A Public Prize awarded to the picture which has totalized the more votes from the visitors of the exhibition, endowed by the Festival’s partners.

Each winner will be invited to the Award Ceremony on Saturday 20 April 2019 at the Municipal Theater of Abbeville. 

It will be offered for 2 persons: 1 night hotel with breakfasts / a first-class return train ticket Paris-Abbeville-Paris (SNCF 1st class) or the equivalent in cash * / a meal with nominated entrants (directors, producers and photographers). (* Travel expenses will be reimbursed after the Festival on this basis by bank transfer.)
Prizes will be awarded to winners within a maximum of 8 months by bank transfer.

COPYRIGHT

By entering, the photographer declares being the sole author of the submitted image and fully agrees to the competition rules.

The author of a selected or a winning photograph grants to the Bird and Nature Festival, the right to reproduce and diffuse said photograph within the framework of the competition exhibition and the publication in a portfolio edited by our partner Nat Images. He/She also authorizes the use of his/her image(s) to promote the Photo Competition and/or the Festival on the web, in the press and in the publications produced by the Festival, for a maximum duration of 3 years. The images will always be accompanied by the name of the author.

The Festival will not transfer the exploitation rights to any other third party and will not make any other use of the work without prior agreement of the author.

EXHIBITION

In order to realize the Photo Competition exhibition, a professional lab will be appointed to print the selected photos on the basis of the files sent. During the exhibition, visitors will vote for the photo of their choice to award the Public Prize. Photographers having one or more photos exhibited will benefit from 2 complimentary exhibition tickets.

After the event, the winning photos and a selection of the best pictures will constitute a non-profit touring exhibition to promote the Festival.

NFORMATION TECHNOLOGY, FILES AND LIBERTIES LAW

The information provided by the participants are only used for the photo contest. In all cases, it is recalled that, in accordance with the European laws and directives in force and the European regulation that came into force on May 25, 2018, relating to Information technology, files and liberties, the protection of individuals with regard to the processing of personal data and the free movement of such data, the photographers have the right to oppose, access and rectify data concerning them.

Consequently, any participant benefits from the organizer of the contest of a right of access, interrogation, opposition, rectification and suppression for his/her data, on simple request to the following address: rgpd@festival-oiseau-nature.com.

RESPONSABILITY

The competition entry being processed through the Internet, it implies knowledge and acceptance of the limits of the Internet, especially regarding technical performance, highly variable flows and loading time. Consequently, the Festival cannot be held liable.

This regulation shall be filed with the lawyer Me CARTON in Abbeville.

Concours Photo

Règlement


Dotations Règlement

Règlement du Concours Photo International 2019

 

Télécharger la version PDF

 

CONDITIONS GÉNÉRALES DE PARTICIPATION

Le concours en téléchargement est ouvert à tout photographe individuel qu’il soit amateur ou professionnel, quelle que soit sa nationalité, à l’exclusion des membres de l’association, des salariés et des membres du Jury.
Une catégorie spécifique du concours est dédiée aux photographes en herbe âgés de 15 à 17 ans.

Le concours étant un concours éthique, les photographies d’oiseaux domestiques ou de compagnie, d’oiseaux en captivité, appâtés ou dressés, les photos prises au nid, les images d’oiseaux nocturnes prises avec un flash, ne sont pas autorisées, de même que les images obtenues en violation des réglementations en vigueur en matière de préservation de la nature ou de protection animale.

CATÉGORIES 2019

5 catégories réservées aux photographes âgés de plus de 18 ans :

  •  Portrait d’oiseau : le sujet peut être photographié en gros plan ou en entier, mais la photo doit transmettre une émotion à travers la pose, le regard, l’expression… Le sujet doit occuper la majeure partie de l’image.
  •  L’oiseau dans son environnement : la photo doit décrire la relation étroite unissant l’oiseau et son environnement naturel, l’inscrire dans son paysage familier, ce dernier devant tenir une place prépondérante dans l’image.
  •  L’oiseau en action: le dynamisme et l’énergie de la photo seront privilégiés.
  • Vision artistique de l’oiseau : la créativité du photographe, à la prise de vue ou au post traitement, doit transformer le banal en une interprétation contemplative et artistique, et proposer un nouveau regard sur l’oiseau.
  • Flopée d’oiseaux : Regroupement important d’oiseaux en vol ou posés.

1 catégorie réservée aux jeunes photographes âgés de 15 à 17 ans (âge légal au 2 décembre 2018 à minuit), avec pour seul sujet l’oiseau.

Exception faite de la catégorie «Jeunes», le Jury se réserve le droit de modifier la catégorie d’une image si cela lui semble plus approprié.

COMMENT PARTICIPER ?

Les inscriptions sont ouvertes du 3 septembre 10h00 au 2 décembre 2018 minuit (heure de Paris).

La participation et le dépôt des photos se font obligatoirement en ligne à l’adresse suivante : https://www.festival-oiseau-nature.com/concours/concours-photo-international/

Les participants feront parvenir à leurs frais et risques leurs fichiers informatiques par le biais du site. Les photos correctement téléchargées seront visibles depuis leur compte et un mail de confirmation sera envoyé à l’adresse e-mail fournie (pensez à vérifier vos spams !)

Lors de son inscription, le participant doit fournir les informations suivantes :

  • Nom et Prénom
  • Adresse postale*
  • N° de téléphone fixe et mobile*
  • Adresse e-mail valide*
  • Mot de passe
  • Lieu et date de la prise de vue
  • Nom de l’espèce
  • Informations techniques (appareil, ouverture, vitesse…)
  • La mention «J’ai pris connaissance du règlement du concours et j’accepte les conditions de participation»

* Les données personnelles que le participant indique sont uniquement utilisées pour le contacter. Elles ne sont pas transmises à des tiers.

  • Concernant les catégories réservées aux photographes âgés de plus de 18 ans :
    Chaque participant pourra présenter au maximum 10 photographies.  Frais d’inscription : 2 € / photo – Le règlement sera effectué en ligne avec une carte de crédit ou via Paypal.
    Le présent jeu étant un concours et non une loterie commerciale, les frais de participation ne seront pas remboursés.
  • Concernant la catégorie réservée aux photographes âgés de 15 à 17 ans :
    Chaque participant doit avoir l’autorisation d’un parent ou tuteur. Il pourra déposer au maximum 5 photographies. La participation dans cette catégorie est gratuite.

Le participant ne pourra pas présenter une image déjà exposée ou primée lors d’une précédente édition du concours. Une même photo ne pourra concourir que dans une seule catégorie.

CONTRAINTES TECHNIQUES ET DIRECTIVES NUMÉRIQUES

Les images déposées devront être :

  • au format JPEG
  • au rapport 3:2
  • redimensionnées à exactement 3 500 pixels pour le plus grand côté (soit 2 333 pixels pour le plus petit)
  • sans bordure, filigrane ou signature

Les réglages numériques tels que l’ajustement du ton et du contraste, l’éclaircissement, l’assombrissement, le recadrage, le renforcement de la netteté, le traitement noir et blanc, la réduction du bruit, la retouche localisée, le HDR, le focus stacking et plusieurs expositions prises dans un même lieu au même moment sont autorisés à condition qu’ils soient conformes aux principes d’authenticité du concours, à savoir qu’ils n’induisent pas le spectateur en erreur et ne donnent pas une fausse image des réalités de la nature.

LE JURY

L’ensemble des photographies sera soumis à un jury composé de photographes, de naturalistes et d’ornithologues, courant décembre. Ce même jury se réunira les 17 et 18 janvier 2019 pour sélectionner les images qui seront exposées et désigner les lauréats. Le Jury procédera à cette sélection dans le respect des règles d’anonymat.

Dès la fin des délibérations, les fichiers TIFF (8 bits) ou JPEG haute résolution, ainsi que les fichiers RAW ou JPEG originaux seront réclamés aux photographes lauréats. Ces fichiers devront être fournis par retour de mail. S’il s’avère qu’une image lauréate n’a pas respecté le présent règlement, elle sera déclassée officiellement.

Les résultats seront communiqués avant fin janvier aux participants par email, et publiés sur le site internet et les réseaux sociaux du Festival.

Les décisions du Jury seront sans appel.

LES PRIX ET LA REMISE DES PRIX

Les prix ne pourront pas faire l’objet d’une contrepartie en espèces, ni de quelque nature que ce soit et sont non cessibles.

  • Le Grand Prix pour lequel le Festival offre la somme de 1 500 €.
  • Un 1er Prix dans chacune des 5 catégories «Adulte» récompensé de 800 €
  • Un 1er Prix pour la catégorie «Jeune» récompensé par des dotations matérielles
  • Le Prix du Public attribué à la photo ayant reçu le plus grand nombre de votes lors de l’exposition sera récompensé de lots offerts par nos partenaires.

Le Jury se réserve le droit de modifier la liste des prix en fonction de la qualité des œuvres en compétition.

Chaque lauréat sera invité à l’occasion de la Soirée de Remise des Prix qui se déroulera lors du 29ème Festival de l’Oiseau et de la Nature, le samedi 20 avril 2019 au Théâtre Municipal d’Abbeville.

 Il se verra offrir pour 2 personnes : 1 nuit d’hôtel avec les petits-déjeuners / un billet aller-retour Paris-Abbeville (SNCF 1ère classe) ou un remboursement sur cette base* / un repas pris en commun avec les autres lauréats le samedi midi. (*Les frais de déplacement seront remboursés après le Festival sur cette base par chèque ou virement bancaire).

Les Prix seront versés aux lauréats dans un délai maximum de 9 mois, par virement bancaire ou par chèque.

DROITS D’AUTEUR ET DE REPRODUCTION

En participant, le photographe affirme que toute image qu’il présente est son oeuvre originale et qu’il est détenteur des droits sur l’image concernée.

L’auteur d’une photographie sélectionnée ou lauréate autorise le Festival de l’Oiseau et de la Nature à reproduire et à diffuser son oeuvre dans le cadre de l’exposition liée au concours, de la publication d’un portfolio par notre partenaire Nat’Images. Il autorise également l’utilisation de l’image dans le cadre de la promotion du concours photo et/ ou du Festival sur le web, dans la presse et dans les publications réalisées par le Festival, et ce pour une durée maximale de 3 ans. Les images seront toujours accompagnées du nom de l’auteur.

Le Festival s’engage à ne pas transférer ces droits d’exploitation à des tiers et à ne pas faire d’autre utilisation de l’oeuvre sans accord préalable de l’auteur.

EXPOSITION

En vue de réaliser l’exposition du concours, un laboratoire professionnel sera chargé d’imprimer les photos sélectionnées par le Jury sur la base des fichiers envoyés.
Durant l’exposition, les visiteurs pourront voter pour la photo de leur choix afin d’attribuer le Prix du Public. Les photographes ayant une ou plusieurs photos exposées bénéficieront de 2 entrées gratuites.

L’association du Festival de l’Oiseau et de la Nature est dépositaire des expositions des précédents concours photo. Dans le cadre de la promotion du concours, elle peut être amenée à diffuser les archives des précédents concours photo avec les mentions de droits d’auteur des photographies.

LOI INFORMATIQUE, FICHIERS ET LIBERTÉS

Les renseignements fournis par les participants pourront être utilisés dans le cadre du concours photo. Dans tous les cas, il est rappelé que, conformément aux lois et directives européennes en vigueur et au règlement européen entré en application le 25 mai 2018, relatifs à l’informatique, aux fichiers et aux libertés, à la protection des personnes physiques à l’égard du traitement des données à caractère personnel et à la libre circulation de ces données, les personnes qui ont participé au concours photo disposent d’un droit d’opposition, d’accès et de rectification des données les concernant.

En conséquence, tout participant bénéficie auprès de l’organisateur du concours d’un droit d’accès, d’interrogation, d’opposition, de rectification et de suppression pour les données le concernant, sur simple demande à l’adresse suivante : rgpd@festival-oiseau-nature.com.

RESPONSABILITE

La participation au concours étant réalisée par le biais d’internet, elle implique la connaissance et l’acceptation des limites d’internet, notamment en ce qui concerne les performances techniques, les débits très variables ou le temps de chargement. En conséquence, le Festival ne saurait en être tenu pour responsable.

En soumettant ses images au concours, le participant accepte le règlement du concours ci-dessus.

Le présent règlement est déposé auprès de Maître Carton, huissier à Abbeville.